Questions? CALL: 1-800-747-7574
The table below summarizes the continuing education requirements for license holders:
For all licenses issued or renewing on and after September 1, 2015, which formerly required 30 hours of continuing education (CE) during each license period, only 24 hours of continuing education is required for each license period. Licenses expiring before September 1, 2015, will have to complete 30 hours of CE.
For all licenses issued or renewing on and after November 1, 2015, completion of the 24 hours of CE is required for a licensee to renew his license. If a licensee does not complete the 24 hours of CE before the expiration date of the license, the licensee will have 90 days to complete the deficient number of hours and pay a fine of $50 per deficient hour. If these two conditions are not met within 90 days of the license expiring, the license will be inactivated, and the licensee will have to apply for a new license. A new license will not be granted until the deficient CE hours are completed and the fine is paid. In order to ensure that there is no delay in renewing a license, license holders are encouraged to complete CE hours at least 30 days before the license expires to allow time for the CE provider to report the successful completion of the course(s) to TDI.
|License||Requirement per two-year renewal period|
|• General Lines – Life, Accident, Health, and HMO (LAH)||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• General Lines – Property and Casualty (PC)||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Life Agent||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Personal Lines Property and Casualty Agent||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Managing General Agent (MGA)||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Adjusters and Public Adjusters||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Life/Health Insurance Counselor||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Insurance Service Representative (ISR)||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics ; courses submitted to TDI for approval by insurer prior to use|
|• Full time Home Office Employee||24 hours, including 2 hours of ethics; courses submitted to TDI for approval by insurer prior to use|
|• County Mutual||10 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Life Insurance Under $25,000||10 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Limited Lines Agent||10 hours, including 2 hours of ethics|
|• Funeral Prearrangement||none|
All Licensees: At least half the hours must be classroom or “classroom equivalent”. There are only two topic groups, “General” and “Ethics”. Any licensee may take courses from these two groups. Courses are not divided by license type.
Full Time Home Office Salaried Employees: Insurers whose plan of operation contemplates the use of these employees are responsible for their training. If insurer wishes to do the training in house, it must be a registered provider. Find information on t he CE Course Provider Information page.
The table below provides references to the continuing education rules concerning licensees. The rules are located in the Texas Administrative Code, and can be easily retrieved through a handy Texas Administrative Code Search Tool. For example, to locate §19.602, at the search screen, enter:
Title Number: ” 28“
Chapter Number: ” 19“
Rule Number: ” 602“
|• §19.602||Adjuster renewal and reexamination requirements|
|• §19.1001||General provisions|
|• §19.1002||Definitions of terms used in rule|
|• §19.1003||Licensee CE requirements|
|• §19.1004||Exemption from and extension of time to do CE|
|• §19.1009||Types of courses|
|• §19.1010||Hours of credit|
|• §19.1011||Requirements for successful course completion (CE)|
|• §19.1013||Licensee records|
|• §19.1014||Provider compliance records|
|• §19.1015||Failure to comply (licensee and provider)|
|• §19.1016||Automatic fines (licensee and provider)|
|• §19.1017||Adjuster prelicense course and examination requirements|
|• §19.1019||Full time home office salaried employees|
Question? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
This page contains continuing education (CE) information for Agents and Adjusters. Providers can find CE information on the Continuing Education Information for Course Providers page.
TDI has created a Continuing Education Frequently Asked Questions
webpage that contains valuable information regarding CE requirements.